Not all the time we work with people editing only his own profile info. In our case, we have a lot of users who might access to the same records without any notice that somebody else open it before. This causes information being lost. For example, User A opens a record first and then User B does. As user A only editted the date of birth leaving the middle name empty, as he did not intend to deal with the middle name. Now user B (who accessed the record while it was being editted by User A), only wants to update the middle name but he will leave the date of birth empty. User A saves the changes and everything is OK but when User B does it, the date of birth entered by User A would be lost.
Is it possible to grant edit permissions only to the first user opening a record and then the others would be granted with view permissions only??
Is like in Access, you can set record locking to avoid conflicts.